MCM: Who is Moses Waiswa; Uganda’s Most Valuable Player?

Waiswa and Aturo were the biggest winners of the night taking home a Toyota Mark II each.

On Friday, the 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards were held at the lakeside Speke Resort Munyonyo Hotel in Kampala. Vipers Sports Club and Uganda Cranes midfield maestro Moses Waiswa Ndhondhi emerged biggest winner of the night scooping Male Player of the Year Award.

Waiswa beathigh competition from stylish teenager, Allan Okello from KCCA FC and Onduparaka’s Vianne Sekajugo.

The making of Moses Waiswa

Waiswa entering his brand new ride. 

The trendy midfielder is a born of 1997 in Kampala. Before joining his current side Vipers Sports Club in 2016, Waiswa was playing in Europe with Swedish third Division club Växjö United.

Though many did not spot Waiswa’s efforts in Vipers’ triumph in the 2017/18 Uganda Premier League success, he caught everyone’s attention on his debut Uganda Cranes start against Tanzania at Namboole this year.

Ever since, he has become a permanent fixture in Desabre’s squad and has continued to shine in the national colours.

Waiswa celebrating with teammates Miya and Kaddu

Although passing is a basic football skill – easy to learn but very difficult to master, Waiswa is that one player who makes passing look effortless.

At the awards gala, a jubilant Waiswa who had only scooped his nod this year appreciated the football fraternity for acknowledging his craft.

“I thank FUFA for organizing such good awards. I have worked hard for it all year round and ready for new life challenges. I appreciate the effort of my teammates at Vipers and on the national team as well as the nominees and winners in the awards,” Waiswa said after winning the gong.

All the night’s winners in a group photo.

Other winners of the night included Ruth Aturo (UCU Cardinals/Crested Cranes) – Female Player of the Year, Allan Okello (KCCA FC/Uganda Cranes) – Fans Favourite (Local), Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns/Uganda Cranes) – Fans Favourite – Foreign, Coach Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC) – Coach of the Year.