National Sevens Series to open this weekend

The Guinness National Sevens Series get underway this Saturday June 9 with Hima Heathens hosting the opening round at Kyadondo Rugby Club. This year’s edition comes with more action as the number of rounds has grown from five to seven.

The Series will be hosted in Jinja and Kyadondo on two occasions with both home sides Toyota Buffaloes and Heathens hosting games. It will then head to Mbarara which takes Gulu’s place from 2017, before Legends hosts three rounds with Betway Kobs, Shell Rimula Rhinos and Buzz Pirates as hosts.

The Guinness-sponsored three-month showpiece has a new exciting addition in shape of the Floodlights 7s, to be hosted at Kyadondo on September 1; the last day of the competition. As the Series wear on, two invitational tournaments in Kabale and the Legends Bantwala 7s will debut on the calendar.

Last year’s winners Betway Kobs, who have also won it for the last three years, will want to add a fourth title on the spin as they bid to bag some silverware this season. Uganda Cup and league holders Pirates, have the chance to bag a treble by claiming the sevens gong for the first time in their history. Heathens had a woeful league campaign and perhaps the record 11 time series champions can make a statement in the shorter version of the game.