Historic: City Oilers win fourth consecutive national basketball league title

City Oilers were crowned National Basketball League champions for the fourth consecutive time after seeing off Betway Power 78 – 46.

After trailing 3-1, wounded Betway Power failed to re-ignite their title hopes despite the game being a make-or-break affair. They registered their worst performance as City Oilers celebrated their way to sweet victory. For the first time, City Oilers tipped off on a high as they led till the final whistle.

At half time, Oilers were 16points clear as it ended 38-22. At the start of third quarter, Power were rather helpless and seemed to have succumbed to the fate. Their star players captain J. Ikong and Makiadi too failed to inspire the team.

Beaming with confidence Mandy rested most of the influential players for the largest period of play. This gave opportunity to players like J.Otim to shine grabbing several three-pointers.

City Oilers’ dominance left Power with minimal resistance.  At the blow of the final whistle, the score read 78-46. City Oilers are now just one title behind record winners Power who have won it on 5 occasions.